How to Get Legally Back on the Road after Drivers License Suspension
If you have been convicted for traffic offenses, then you’ll need to be aware that Texas Insurance is required for high risk drivers and that in most cases it must be kept on file for 2 years from the conviction date. This article will discuss how to reinstate your driver's license in the state of Texas, with an SR22 as required by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). So let’s take a closer look at the process Houston auto insurance Texas entails with the SR22.
To begin with, a reinstatement fee of $100 must be paid. Some reasons drivers may need SR22 Texas Insurance may include: involvement in a motor vehicle accident without proof of insurance, Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Driving While Impaired (DWI), drug offenses, Driving While License is Invalid (DWLI), habitual violations, Violation of Drivers License Restriction (VDLR). Typically, if a person has had four traffic violations within a twelve month period, or seven violations within a twenty four month period, the state of Texas will suspend a driver’s license. Needless to say, the more offenses, the bigger the penalties will likely be imposed on the driver.
The minimum liability insurance limits for the state of Texas are $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Once policies are activated by the insurance carrier, the insurance company will notify the Texas Department of Public Safety that the driver meets the legal auto insurance requirements. And in the case where there is a lapse in coverage, the auto insurance company is obligated to notify the state with an SR26 Filing, and consequently, another driver’s license suspension. In which case, additional fees, and another SR22 Filing must be activated. That is why once an SR22 Texas Insurance policy has been purchased, you’re going to be amazed just how important it is for the driver to pay the premium on time to prevent the policy from being terminated.
Some insurance people say that because rates vary greatly amongst carriers, it is very important to shop around for SR22 Houston auto insurance Texas deals before you buy. To give you a quick example, rates in the metropolitan areas of Texas are higher than rates in rural areas. You will pay more if you live in Dallas, San Antonio or Houston, than you would if you live in Waco or Tyler. I wonder if you’ve realized that getting an SR22 and reinstating your driver's license will get you legally back on the road. If you’re the kind of person that has had your driver’s license suspended and you want a fresh start, then this will be exactly what you’re looking for. The Texas Department of Safety is located in Austin, and an SR22 Texas Insurance form can be mailed or faxed to their office, OR submitted in person at other locations in the state of Texas… in Houston, Garland, and Universal City.